Home > Technology > New York MTA EasyPay Metrocard Privacy

New York MTA EasyPay Metrocard Privacy


My previous article talked about the benefits of the new MetroCatd that refills itself when the remaining value on your card hits $20.00.  I discovered a downside, your privacy.  I knew my metocard could be linked back to show my comings and goings but seeing it all on a statement drives the point home about how easy it be tracked.  Anyone that sees this statement from the MTA to anyone that intercepts it enroute to my house or anyone in home that sees it (or anyone on the Internet that sees it after I posted it on the web) would know where I was, when I was there, where I was going and when I came back.  Yes, I have nothing to hide but sometimes its good to remember what your not hiding in case there really is something you want to hide.

Easypay Metrocard Statement - Zoomed In To Details

Categories: Technology
  1. April 24, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views
    are fastidious in favor of new visitors.

  2. May 24, 2013 at 7:13 am

    I truly love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own blog and would love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

